Narendra Modi takes oath as Prime Minister of India for the second time

Newsroom24x7 Network

New Delhi: After leading the BJP and the NDA to a sweeping victory in the general election to the Lok Sabha Narendra Modi today took the oath of office and secrecy as Prime Minister of India for the second time in a row.

BJP President Amit Shah also took oath as Cabinet Minister after party senior Rajnath Singh had taken the oath of office and secrecy.

Narendra Singh Tomar

Among the first to take oath as Cabinet ministers were Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Narendra Singh Tomar and Ram Vilas Paswan.

A surprise induction in the Cabinet is former Foreign Secretary  S Jaishankar.

JDU, a constituent of NDA has chosen to stay out of the Cabinet. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar told media persons that they were offered one ministerial berth but there is consensus among his party leaders that there is no need to go for ‘symbolic representation’. Nothing much should be read in this decision as the JDU is part of the NDA and they are running a government together with the BJP in Bihar, he added.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.