Tag Archives: swearing-in

Mamata takes oath as West Bengal CM for the 3rd time

Newsroom24x7 Network

Kolkata: After a sweeping victory in the general election to the West Bengal State Assembly and in the backdrop of post-poll violence that has shaken the entire nation, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee was on Wednesday 5 May 2021 sworn-in as the chief minister of West Bengal for the third consecutive term.

Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar administered her the oath of office and secrecy at a simple ceremony at Raj Bhawan here.

Banerjee said her first priority will be to tackle the COVID-19 situation.

Senior TMC leaders, including Partha Chatterjee and Subrata Mukherjee and poll strategist Prashant Kishor, who played a key role in TMC’s victory were prominent among those who attended the function.

Kamal Nath sworn-in as Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister

Lalit Shastri

Impressive show of strength and unity in Bhopal ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha election


Bhopal: Kamal Nath, a former Union Minister, and a close associate of Sanjay Gandhi and confidante of the Gandhi family, was today (17 December 2018) sworn-in as the 18th Chief Minister of the Central Indian State of Madhya Pradesh.

In Jaipur, earlier today, Ashok Gehlot was sworn-in as Chief Minister and Sachin Pilot as Deputy Chief Minister of Rajsthan.

At another swearing-in ceremony at Raipur,  Bhupesh Baghel took the oath as Chhattisgarh chief Minister.

Within hours of being sworn-in as Chief Minister, the Madhya Pradesh Government, led by Kamal Nath, issued orders waiving all farm loans up to Rs. 2 lakh borrowed from nationalised and cooperative banks till March 31 2018. This is a major step towards meeting the poll promises. The Congress party had announced that farm loans would be waived within 10 days of the Congress coming to power in the State.

State Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office and secrecy at 2.30 pm at an impressive public ceremony held at the huge Jambori Maidan (ground) near BHEL on the outskirts of new Bhopal. The ground was bursting at the seams with Congress supporters turning up in huge numbers form all parts of the State to attend the ceremony. In the state capital, all roads today led to the Jambori Maidan.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi and other dignitaries arrive for the swearing-in


Dignitaries, especially present on the stage, included Congress President Rahul Gandhi, former Prime Ministers Manmohan Singh and H.D. Deve Gowda, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot, Karnataka Chief Minister H. D. Kumaraswamy, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, Chief Minister of the Union Territory of Puducherry V. Narayansamy, senior Congress leader and former chief minister Digvijay Singh, former Union Ministers Jyotiraditya Scindia and Suresh Pachouri, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who has ceased to be the State Chief Minister after serving for three consecutive terms, ex-Chief Minister Babulal Gaur, former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah. Also present on this occasion were former JDU president Sharad Yadav, President of the Nationalist Congress Party Sharad Pawar and his senior party colleague Praful Patel.

Besides Congress President Rahul Gandhi, who had addressed several election rallies in the State, the main architects of the Congress victory in the just concluded Madhya Pradesh Assembly election are Kamal Nath, who had led the Congress campaign in his capacity as State Congress President, along with party’s Campaign Committee chief Jyotriaditya Scindia and former Chief Minister Digvijay Singh.