Tag Archives: polling

Lok Sabha election 2019: Polling will be in four phases in Madhya Pradesh

Newsroom24x7 Network

Bhopal: Madhya Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer V. L. Kanta Rao said that with the announcement of Lok Sabha 2019 Election by the Election Commission of India, Model Code of Conduct has been implemented in the state. It will remain in force till May 27.

The counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections will be held on May 23. According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission, polling will be held in four phases in 29 Lok Sabha constituencies of Madhya Pradesh- the Fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh phase of the seven phases of Lok Sabha elections to be held across the country.

In the fourth phase, polling will be conduced in six Lok Sabha constituencies – Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Balaghat, Mandla and Chhindwara. Notification will be issued for electoral process on April 2 and nominations will be filed till 9 April. Nominations will be scrutinized on April 10 and names will be withdrawn on April 12. Voting will take place on April 29.

In the fifth phase, elections will be held in seven Lok Sabha constituencies of Tikamgarh, Damoh, Satna, Rewa, Khajuraho, Hoshangabad and Betul Lok Sabha constituencies. The notification for this phase will be issued on April 10. Nominations can be submitted till 18 April. The nominations will be scrutinized on April 20. The names will be withdrawn on April 22. Polling for this phase will be on 6 May.

Polling will be held in eight parliamentary constituencies – Murनाa, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal and Rajgarh in the next phase. The notification for this will be issued on 16 April. Nominations can be submitted till April 23. The nominations will be scrutinized on April 24. The last date for withdrawing nominations is April 26. Polling will take place on May 12.

In the seventh and final phase, polling in eight Lok Sabha constituencies will be held. The districts to be covered in this phase are Dewas, Ujjain, Indore, Dhar, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Kharguna and Khandwa. For this phase, notification will be issued on 22 April. Nominations can be submitted till 29 April. These would be scrutinized on April 30. Names can be withdrawn till 2 May. Polling will take place on May 19. The counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections will be on May 23 and the same day results would also be declared.

Assembly constituency number 126
The election for Chhindwara Assembly constitency will be also be held with Lok Sabha election on April 29 and the counting of votes will be done on May 23.

Polling held for MP bye-elections

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Bhopal: Polling was conducted today for the bye elections to fill the vacancies in two Assembly Constituencies of Madhya Pradesh – Mungaoli in Ashok Nagar district and Kolaras in Shivpuri district.

While polling in Mungali touched 69.35 per cent at 4 pm, the polling percentage at the same time was limited to 58.75 per cent in Kolaras.

In a mock polling drill, 15 VVPATs in Kolaras and 17 VVPATs in Mungaoli were found to be malfunctioning. These were replaced. About 9 am, a voter at Kolaras lodged his protest saying: “I have been standing in queue for the past one hour, voting has not started since the EVM is not working”.

With the conclusion of today’s polling the voters have sealed the fate of Mahendra Singh Yadav in Kolaras and Brijendra Singh Yadav in Mungaoli. From the ruling BJP side, Baisahab Yadav and Devendra Jain are in the fray from Mungaoli and Kolaras respectively.

These elections, would be setting the trend for the Assembly elctions in Madhya Pradesh later this year. While the prestige of State Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is at stake especially since the BJP suffered defeat at the hands of the Congress in the recent bye-election for the Chitrakoot Assembly seat.


First phase of polling kicks off in West Bengal and Assam

Newsroom24x7 Desk

EvmGuwahati/ Kolkata: The Assembly polls today kicked off with the first phase of polling in West Bengal and Assam.

Polling for the first phase of 65 constituencies in Assam Assembly election began at 7 am today.

Two important candidates in the election fray in Assam are Congress party’s Taroon Gogoi, the incumbent Chief Minister, who is seeking a fourth term and Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal. He is the chief ministerial candidate from the BJP side leading the alliance of regional parties Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF)

Voting for the first of the six-phase Assembly election in West Bengal began this morning in 18 of the state’s 294 constituencies. The 18 constituencies going to poll today are spread across three tribal dominated districts- West Midnapore, Bankura and Purulia. This is a Maoist infested area known as the  ‘Jangalmahal’ region.

After casting his vote, Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi told the media that his government has brought progress and development while Prime Minuster Narendra Midi has failed to fulfill his promises.

The PM is losing his popularity across India -even in his own Gujarat State”, was Gogoi’s politically loaded assertion.

Battle for Delhi: Huge tug of war between BJP and AAP

Newsroom24x7 Desk

delhi electionNew Delhi, Feb. 6: When the curtain came down on campaigning for the February 7 Delhi Assembly election, which has become a virtual tug of war between the Bharatiya Janata party and Aam Aadmi Party, most survey’s were tilting the balance in favour of AAP chief ministerial candidate Arvind Kejriwal.

A senior TV journalist covering Delhi elections has posted on facebook: ‘From what I saw on the streets of Delhi today (Thursday) it is an AAP tsunami.”

On Thursday- last day of campaigning, both the BJP chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi and Arvind Kejriwal were at their hectic best. While the pre-election survey’s showed the odds weighing against Ms. Bedi, those in the BJP are optimistic. This despite the searing undercurrent of anger among the party cadres over the manner in which Ms. Bedi was inducted and airdropped as a chief ministerial candidate at the last moment.

The discontent within the BJP notwithstanding, senior party leader and Union Minister Arun Jaitley told a TV news channel on Thursday that nobody was better than Kiran Bedi to lead the BJP in Delhi Assembly elections. The main agenda in the campaign for Delhi is governance versus anarchy, he added.

In the ultimate round of electioneering, AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal took part in road-shows on his campaign vehicle and also went on foot in his New Delhi Assembly constituency with a large number of followers.

During the campaigning, Ms. Bedi was constantly grilled by the media for rejecting a public debate with Mr. Kejriwal. She also faced stiff cricticism for making a U-turn and joining the BJP and also for not taking a stand on issues like corruption, women’s safety, electricity tariff and transparency when it came to political parties accepting donations.