Tag Archives: Kolaras

Ruling BJP trails behind Congress in Kolaras and Mungaoli by-elections in MP

Newsroom24x7 Network

Bhopal: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party candidates were trailing behind their main rivals of the Congress at the end of the fifth round of countibg of votes for the Kolaras and Mungaoli Assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh.

In Mungaol,i congress was leading by 3896 votes after 13 rounds.

In Kolaras, congress leading by 3425 votes after 10 rounds.

Even as counting was on, State Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said both these seats were won by  the Congress party with a huge margin when the BJP had swept the 2013 Assembly election. This time the BJP has performed much better in both these constituencies, he added.

Leader of Opposition in the State Assembly, Ajay  Singh took a dig at the ruling party by saying: “the BJP cannot win two seats but it is claiming that it will capture 200 seats in the forthcoming Assembly election.”

Lead at 1.50 pm




Click here for Election Commission’s order to Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chiuhan

Polling held for MP bye-elections

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Bhopal: Polling was conducted today for the bye elections to fill the vacancies in two Assembly Constituencies of Madhya Pradesh – Mungaoli in Ashok Nagar district and Kolaras in Shivpuri district.

While polling in Mungali touched 69.35 per cent at 4 pm, the polling percentage at the same time was limited to 58.75 per cent in Kolaras.

In a mock polling drill, 15 VVPATs in Kolaras and 17 VVPATs in Mungaoli were found to be malfunctioning. These were replaced. About 9 am, a voter at Kolaras lodged his protest saying: “I have been standing in queue for the past one hour, voting has not started since the EVM is not working”.

With the conclusion of today’s polling the voters have sealed the fate of Mahendra Singh Yadav in Kolaras and Brijendra Singh Yadav in Mungaoli. From the ruling BJP side, Baisahab Yadav and Devendra Jain are in the fray from Mungaoli and Kolaras respectively.

These elections, would be setting the trend for the Assembly elctions in Madhya Pradesh later this year. While the prestige of State Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is at stake especially since the BJP suffered defeat at the hands of the Congress in the recent bye-election for the Chitrakoot Assembly seat.