Tag Archives: JD(U)

Nitish Kumar quits as Bihar Chief Minister

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Patna/New Delhi: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar today resigned after the RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav ruled out the resignation of his son, the deputy chief Minister Tejashwi Prasad Yadav over the land-for-hotel case that has engulfed the entire Lalu family.


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Nitish resigned after the ruling JD(U) legislature party met here on Wednesday (26 July 2017).


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

After the latest development and following the parting of ways between the Nitish led JD(U) and Lalu led RJD, BJP party mandarins in Delhi are not ruling out a JD(U)-BJP alliance in Bihar.

Nitish Kumar prepares to take oath as Bihar CM today

Newsroom24x7 Desk

nitish kumarPatna : The much-awaited swearing-in ceremony of Bihar legislative assembly is scheduled to take place today post noon, around 2 pm, at Gandhi Maidan in Patna. The swearing in will induct Chief Minister Nitish Kumar to the CM seat once again for the fifth time in his political career. Having made government in Bihar earlier in coalition with BJP, Nitish Kumar would be, this time round, for the first time, making a government out of the Grand Alliance which consists of his erstwhile political competitor, now an ally, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD, who has managed to bite the larger chunk of seats in this coalition victory.

Grand Alliance, comprising of JD(U), RJD and Congress won the assembly elections of Bihar state with a sweeping majority of 178 legislative seats, out of the total 243 on the beginning of this month. The alliance managed to defeat BJP led NDA, which was contained to a mere 53 seat win in this state polls. Chief Minister Nitish Kumar along with his alliance partner Lalu Prasad Yadav shared a major chunk of victory seats, while Congress managed to improve its legislative headcount to a decent number in this assembly election.

Patna’s Gandhi Maidan has geared up for the oath taking ceremony amidst tight security arrangements for which the state police have made elaborate arrangements at the venue. Some of the important guests who have confirmed their presence at the function include former PM H D Deve Gowda, AICC vice-president Rahul Gandhi, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, UP CM Akhilesh Yadav, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury and Punjab deputy CM Sukhbir Badal. Close surveillance will be monitored by forty CCTV cameras which have been positioned at the sprawling venue that would be guarded by about 2,000 policemen including 30 deputy Superintendents of police.

JD(U) CM’s oath ceremony would be graced and watched by a galaxy of national leaders and is expected to draw tens of thousands of Nitish and RJD leader Lalu Prasad supporters besides nine Chief Ministers, namely — Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), Arvind Kejriwal (Delhi), Tarun Gogoi (Assam), P.K. Chamling (Sikkim), O. Ibobi Singh (Manipur), Nabam Tuki (Arunachal Pradesh), Virbhadra Singh (Himachal Pradesh), Akhilesh Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) and S. Siddaramaiah (Karnataka). The VIP list of invitees includes former Chief Ministers Omar Abdullah (Jammu and Kashmir), Sheila Dikshit (Delhi), Bhupinder Hooda (Haryana), Shankarsinh Vaghela (Gujarat), Babulal Marandi and Hemant Soren (Jharkhand) and Ajit Jogi (Chhattisgarh).

Country awaits Bihar election results

Newsroom24x7 Desk

Modi_Nitish_LaluPatna/New Delhi:The counting for the historic and crucial Bihar Assembly election will begin shortly and within the next few hours the scenario would be clear and people will get the answers for so many questions floating across the country.

Political observers and a large section of people are asking:

Will victory for the NDA in Bihar reinstate Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Amit Shah’s reputation that he hestablished in 2014 May when his party swept to power at the Centre with a brute majority?

What the BJP will do in West Bengal and also what about its ambitions to spread the wings in the North East after a debacle in Bihar?

Will defeat in Bihar not lend crdibility to those who have been describing it as a party that rode to power at the Centre on the basis of “false promises”?

A defeat – will it not be a warning signal to BJP for the 2017 elections in Uttar Pradesh?

For the JDU-RJD “Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) that has drawn heavily from the caste factor, a victory would be a game changer for Indian Politics as it would send the clear message that the Modi wave is now a thing of the past and that the Modi model of development has been rejected by the people. A defeat on the other end will bring down the curtain when it comes to Lalu Prasad Yadav and his kind of politics and also crush the Bihar chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s ambitions to pitch himself prominently in national politics keeping an eye on the 2019 elections.

Polling begins for third phase in Bihar

Newsroom24x7 Desk

bihar pollsPatna : Bidding began for the third phase of electoral seats in Bihar as early morning voters queued up in polling booths from 7 am to cast their votes and seal the fate of legislators in their respective constituencies. This phase of Bihar polls focuses on home turf for the two leaders of the grand alliance between RJD, JD(U) and Congress, as two constituencies, namely – Mahua and Raghopur would decide the ballot for RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav’s sons Tej Pratap and Tejaswi, who are in a maiden contest today.

A total of 50 constituencies out of the 243 assembly seats in Bihar have prepared for votecast today, after a gap of 11 days from the second phase of voting. The earlier phase sealed the fate of Former Chief Minister and HAM leader Jitanram Manjhi, whose party is bidding in alliance with BJP-led NDA. This phase,however, attends to constituencies which have been a strong hold of RJD as well as incumbent Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his party JD(U).

23 of the 50 seats where polling is being held today were won by Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) in the last assembly elections. BJP had won 19 in the same polls. Lalu Yadav’s RJD had won eight. Although BJP this time is contesting on 34 seats out of the 50 which have gone for polls today, the other 16 have been distributed amongst its allies in the coalition of NDA. 50 assembly constituencies across six districts will vote in the third phase of the ongoing assembly elections in Bihar. Voting will be spread across Patna, Vaishali, Saran, Nalanda, Buxar and Bhojpur and ends at 5 pm. Voting ends an hour earlier in 10 Maoist-hit constituencies.

Lalu Yadav’s RJD leads the anti-BJP grand alliance in this phase, contesting 25 of the 50 seats. Polling is being held for seven seats in Nalanda, which happens to be Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s home ground.

Of the 243 assembly seats in the state, elections have already been held for 81 in the first two phases, held on October 12 and October 16. Two more rounds of polling will be held on November 1 and November 5. Votes will be counted on November 8.