Tag Archives: damage

Chouhan issues directives to assess damage due to floods in Madhya Pradesh

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan today reviewed the flood situation in Madhya Pradesh
Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan today reviewed the flood situation in Madhya Pradesh

Bhopal: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan today gave instructions to officials to keep a close watch on the flood situation situation in Rewa, Satna and Panna districts and said that the official machinery should be in a state of maximum alert as the weather officer had predicted heavy rains in across some districts.

Chouhan was reviewing the flood situation in the capital. He told the officials to prepare an initial assessment of the damage caused by the flood for sending a report to the Central government.

Choulan observed that in many parts of Rewa, Satna and Panna huge damage has been caused to both public property and private houses due to the heavy rains. He said special priority should be given to mitigating the sufferings of those whose houses have been damaged. He also asked the senior officials to deploy Disaster management teams in the affected areas. Also, arrangement for motor boats and potable water should be made immediately.

Chouhan instructed the officials to keep in constant touch with the Army in order to use their services in case of any emergency. He told the officials that they should inform and alert all the people before releasing water from the dams.

Underscoring the possibility of the spread of diseases after the present spell of rains, the chief minister said that bleaching powder and chlorine tablets should be made available immediatelyto the people. He also instructed the officials to arrange boats for the people residing near the banks of the rivers. Besides the drainage system should also be cleaned immediately to prevent water logging.

Today’s meeting was attended by Chief Secretary Antony De Sa, DGP R.K.Shukla, Additional Chief Secretary Iqbal Singh Bains, Additional Chief Secretary B.P. Singh, Additional Chief Secretary Radheshyam Julaniya, Principal Secretary K.K. Singh, Principal Secretary Health Ms. Gauri Singh, Principal Secretary Agriculture Rajesh Rajora, CM Secretary Vivek Agarwal and Commissioner Public Relations Anupam Rajan.