Tag Archives: Breaking News

Breaking News: Supreme Court grants bail to Arnab Goswami

Newsroom24x7 Network

New Delhi: Supreme Court of India has granted interim bail and ordered release of Arnab Goswami, Editor-in-Chief of Republic TV.

The Supreme Court on Wednesday 11 November ordered the concerned jail authorities and the Superintendent of Police, Raigad to ensure that the release order is complied with forthwith

The order by the two Judge Bench of Justice DY Chandrachud and Ms Justice Indira Banerjee says: “We are of the considered view that the High Court was in error in rejecting the applications for the grant of interim bail. We accordingly order and direct that Arnab Manoranjan Goswami, Feroz Mohammad Shaikh and Neetish Sarda shall be released on interim bail, subject to each of them executing a personal bond in the amount of Rs 50,000 to be executed before the Jail Superintendent. They are, however, directed to co-operate the investigation and shall not make any attempt to interfere with the ongoing investigation or with the witnesses.”

The appeals before the Supreme Court arose from the order of the Division Bench of the High Court of Judicature at Mumbai on 9 November 2020 by which the applications for the grant of the interim bail moved by the appellants pending the disposal of their writ petitions were rejected.

Senior advocates Harish Salve, Siddharth Bhatnagar, Mukul Rohatgi and Gopal Shankaranarayanan represented Arnab Goswami in the Supreme Court.

Senior advocates Kapil Sibal, Amit Desai and CU Singh were from the side of the respondents – Maharashtra Government and others.

Download Supreme Court order


Arnab Goswami case: Landmark observations by Supreme Court of India in matter of personal liberty

Arnab assaulted and then arrested by Maharashtra Police

Please tell people of India my life is under threat: Arnab Goswami

Free Arnab; Restore Freedom of Media

Today’s Top News

Newsroom24x7 Network

Top News this Evening

Newsroom24x7 Network

Voting begins for final phase of polling in Bihar

Newsroom24x7 Desk

bihar pollsPatna, Bihar : Bihar enters its final phase of voting today as fates of candidates begin to get sealed in ballot boxes from early morning hours in the state of Bihar. 57 seats are bidding for their votecast in the fifth and final stage of Bihar assembly elections. This phase is set to work as a tug of war between the regional divide of voter mentality as a substantial majority vote seats are on the contest, which predominantly might be a favorable sweet spot for the incumbent-led grand alliance comprising of majors like Lalu Yadav’s RJD, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) and the national party Congress led by Sonia Gandhi.The anti-BJP Grand Alliance led by Nitish Kumar is seen as favourites in this region, called Seemanchal.

The 57 constituencies include 24 in Seemanchal region bordering West Bengal and are spread over nine districts of Madhubani, Darbhanga, Supual, Madhepura, Saharsa, Araria, Kisanganj, Purnea, and Katihar.There are a total of 827 candidates who have filed their nominations for the 57 legislative seats, among which 58 women candidates are trying their electoral fate in this round of final phase of voting,

Prominent among those whose fate will be sealed in the ballot today include senior minister Bijendra Prasad Yadav of Janata Dal (United ) or JD(U) (Supual), Rashtriya Janata Dal or RJD Legislature party leader Siddiqui (Alinagar), Minister Narendra Narayan Yadav (Alamnagar) and Lalu Prasad’s close aide Bhola Yadav (Bahadurpur).Owaisi-led AIMIM is also seen as an activer player ih the Seemanchal region and this round of polling would be watched keenly to observe how AIMIM (All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen) of Hyderabad lawmaker Asauddin Owaisi fares in the polls and whether it manages to successfully launch itself in Bihar. AIMIM has floated six candidates in Seemanchal areas where Muslim voters are present in large numbers.

The time schedule for polling spreads from 7 am morning to 5 pm in the evening, barring two seats, which fall under the sensitive category of Naxal-hit constituencies – Simri Bhakhtiyarpur and Mahisi in Saharsa district – where polling time has been curtailed by two hours and would end at 3 pm.

Votes will be counted on November 8.