The A-Team’ set up a  title clash with ‘Baale Golf’ in Lloyd DGCL 

Harpal Singh Bedi

 New  Delhi:  Playing  some brilliant golf The ‘A-Team’ upstaged Defending Champions ‘BMW Deutsche-Motoren’ to set up a title clash  with ‘Baale Golf’   

 in  the ‘Lloyd Delhi Golf Club League   here .

 Intrestingly ,  “Baale Golf’  ousted  last year runners-up Christie’s Golf’   (then called ‘K’s Devils’). The final is slated for 22nd October 

In the first Semi-Final of the day, ‘The A-Team’ won 4 of their 7 games against team ‘BMW Deutsche-Motoren’ and with a total of 10 points cruised into the Finals.  BMW-Deutsche-Motoren on their part    could muster only 6 points.

In the second Semi-FInal, ‘Baale Golf’  created  an upset, to nudge last year’s runners-up ‘Christies’ Golf’ out of the tournament.  The winners tallied 9 points as against the 5.5 points that ‘Christie’s Golf’ managed.

The  tournament  is being played on a “Four-ball better-ball Matchplay” Format.  The League was  played in two stages – a Round Robin stage followed by a Knock-out stage. During each playoff match between two teams, each team  fielded  7 pairs (14 players). 

One pair from each team  played  against a pair from the other team in a “Four-ball better-ball” Matchplay format with all the players playing off 75% of their original handicaps. 

Some of the biggest names in the golfing world who have honed their skills at the Delhi Golf Club, are involved with the League at different levels, including three Arjuna Award winners namely Shiv Kapur, Nonita Lal Qureshi and Amit Luthra.  Additionally, stalwarts such as Gaurav Ghei – the first ever Indian golfer to qualify for the Open Championship ‘97; Vivek Bhandari – winner of the Honda-Siel PGA Championship ’97; Arjun Singh – winner of the Wills Masters ’98; Asian Tour regulars – Chiragh Kumar and Amandeep Johl; leading Ladies Tour professionals Mehar Atwal and Ayesha Kapur, top Coaches  Jasjit Singh and Ajai Gupta are involved in the Delhi Golf Club League 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.