Golf: Team Birdie Machine’ pip ‘Tee Birds by half a point to seal the Quarter-Final berth

Harpal Singh Bedi 

New Delhi: Team ‘Birdie Machine’ pipped team ‘Tee Birds’ to the post by a narrow half-point margin to seal  the  quarter-final berth in the Lloyd Delhi Golf Club League, here on Monday.

‘Birdie Machine tallied 10.5 points today with 4 wins from 7 games, while ‘Tee Birds’ managed 5.5 points.

The two qualifiers from this group are ‘The A-Team’(41 points) and ‘Birdie Machine’ (31.5 points).  ‘Tee Birds’ finished tantalizingly close with 31 points.

In the opening session, ‘The A-Team’ romped to 5 wins in 7 games against team ‘SwingKKings’ to tally 12 points for the day and 41 for the tournament, thereby topping their group. ‘SwingKKings’ managed only 5 points today to tally 28 for the event.

In the second session, team ‘Bajaj Foundation’ played out of their skin against team ‘Christie’s Golf’ and with 3 wins and 2 draws in 7 games against their opponents tallied 8.5 points against Christie’s 7. Despite winning on each of the four days, ‘Bajaj Foundation’ unfortunately fell short of the qualification mark by 4 points.  

The two qualifiers from this group are ‘Christie’s Golf’(39.5 points)  and ‘Athletic Drive’ (37.5 points).  ‘Bajaj Foundation’ finished with 33.5 points.

In the next session, ‘TeeM EDC’ won 5 out of the 7 games they played against team ‘B I Luxury’, totaling 12 points against their opponents’ 4.5 points. Their tally of 28 points was 9.5 points behind the second qualifier in their group, ‘Athletic Drive’.

Quarter finals qualifiers: :

Group A ; BMW Deutsche Motoren,Delhi Tigers

Group  B: The A Team,Birdie Machine

Group C:  Baale Golf,MMG Coca-Cola

Group D: Christie’s Golf,Athletic Drive

The League, being played at the historic par-72 Delhi Golf Club course, features 13 days of hard-fought golf and will conclude in a Grand Finale on October 22, 2022. 

The tournament is being played on a “Four-ball better-ball Matchplay” Format.  The League will be played in two stages – a Round Robin stage followed by a Knock-out stage. During each playoff match between two teams, each team will field 7 pairs (14 players). One pair from each team will play against a pair from the other team in a “Four-ball better-ball” Matchplay format with all the players playing off 75% of their original handicaps. The teams will get points for their wins. The 20 teams have been divided into 4 groups. After the Round Robin stage, 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Knock-out stage starting with the Quarter-finals.  The Finals will be played on the 22nd of Oct 2022.

Some of the biggest names in the golfing world who have honed their skills at the Delhi Golf Club, are involved with the League at different levels, including three Arjuna Award winners namely Shiv Kapur, Nonita Lal Qureshi and Amit Luthra.  Additionally, stalwarts such as Gaurav Ghei – the first ever Indian golfer to qualify for the Open Championship ‘97; Vivek Bhandari – winner of the Honda-Siel PGA Championship ’97; Arjun Singh – winner of the Wills Masters ’98; Asian Tour regulars – Chiragh Kumar and Amandeep Johl; leading Ladies Tour professionals Mehar Atwal and Ayesha Kapur, top Coaches  Jasjit Singh and Ajai Gupta are involved in the Delhi Golf Club League 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.