National Chess Championship: Koustav holds top seed Adhiban

Harpal Singh Bedi

Kanpur: International Master Koustav Chatterjee (Bengal) held top seed Grandmaster B Adhiban of PSPB to draw in the third round of the ongoing MPL 58th  Senior National Chess Championship at Ganges Club  here on Saturday.

Earlier in the second round, Jeet Jain ( Guj) held GM  Abhimanyu Puranik while GM P Iniyan suffered a shock defeat by the hands of Suyog Wagh (Maha) .

Playing white side of the English Opening, Adhiban agreed to sign the peace treaty with his West Bengal opponent after 73 moves in an opposite colour bishop and rook ending.

Second seed Grandmaster Arjun Erigaisi ( Telangana) beat IM  Sayantan Das (Railways)  to  share the lead with GMs Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB ), D Gukesh (TN ), Aryan Chopra( Delhi), Harsha Bharathakoti (Telangana), IM  Ravi Teja (Railways), Utsab Chatterjee, Anustoop Biswas ( Bengal) with  three points.

Gupta defeated P Shyaamnikhil ( Railways) while Gueksh, Aryan and Harsha accounted for Sammed Jaykumar Shete ( Maha) Anuj Shrivatri (MP) and Harshad S (TN) .

Ravi Teja outwitted Suyog Wagh (Maha)  Utsab and Anustoop stunned GMs  Swapnil Dhopade and Visakh N R  (Railways).

Former champions Karthikeyan Murali, Sethuraman S P, Lalith Babu M R and defending champion Aravindh Chithambaram drew their third-round outing against RR Laxman, Srijit Paul, Srihari L R and Shahil Dey respectively.

Mayor of Kanpur  Pramila Pandey inaugurated the third round matches of this 30 lakh prize money championship sponsored by MPL Sports Foundation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.