Padma Vibhushan for Prabha Atre, Radheyshyam Khemka, General Bipin Rawat and Kalyan Singh; Padma Bhushan for Ghulam Nabi

Newsroom24x7 Network

General Bipin Rawat

New Delhi: This year the President has approved conferment of 128 Padma Awards including 2 duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one). The Padma awardees comprise 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards.  34 of the awardees are women and they also include 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.

Prabha Atre (Maharashtra) has been awarded Padma Vibhushan. Three others awarded the second highest national honour posthumously are Radheyshyam Khemka, General Bipin Rawat and Kalyan Singh

Ghulam Nabi Azad is prominent among others awarded the Padma Bhushan.

Science and Technology

This year 8 persons have been honoured with Padma Awards in the field of Science and Engineering. These awardees include one Padma Bhushan (posthumous) and seven Padma Shri awardees.

No one from ISRO or Indian Institute of Science figures in the list of Padma Awardees this year.

Indian origin Mexican scientist late Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram has been awarded Padma Bhushan posthumously. Born in 1943 in Varanasi, Sanjay died on February 17 last year in Mexico. Sanjay had developed 480 species of wheat, which are now grown in 53 countries. In 2014, he was also awarded the World Food Prize.

Padma Shri Awardees (Science and Technology

Subbanna Ayyappan of Karnataka. Subanna has also been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD) and the International Rice Research Institute. Subanna has worked in many scientific institutes of the country. He has received many national and international honours.

Professor Sanghmitra Bandyopadhyay of West Bengal is a professor in the Machine Intelligence Unit at the Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata. Sanghamitra has worked closely with several universities and institutions in the US, Australia, Germany, France, Italy, China, Mexico. She has received many honors like the prestigious Bhatnagar Prize, Infosys Award, and DBT National Woman Bioscientist Award.

Aditya Prasad Dash, a professor from Odisha, is the Vice-Chancellor of AIPH University. Earlier, he was the Vice-Chancellor of the Central University of Tamil Nadu. Before that he has worked in WHO. Pro. Aditya is an expert in Immunology and Microbiology.

Moti Lal Madan of Haryana has been a major Biotechnology Researcher, Veterinarian, Academician and Administrator. He has been the Director (Research) with the National Dairy Research Institute from 1994 to 1995. He was also awarded the Haryana Vigyan Ratna Award last year.

Anil Kumar Rajvanshi of Maharashtra is the director of the Agricultural Research Institute. He has also been awarded the Jamnalal Bajaj Award and the Solar Hall of Fame. Dr. Rajvanshi is considered an expert in the field of renewable energy, and rural development.

Dr. Ajay Kumar Sonkar of Uttar Pradesh is a well-known researcher and scientist. He is credited with promoting pearl cultivation and pearl culture in the country. He spread the method of cultivation of pearls in clean water.

Jayantkumar Maganlal Vyas of Gujarat is an expert in forensics. He has been placed in the position of Director at National Forensic Sciences University.

List of Padma Awardees

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.