Rohit Sharma named captain, Virat Kohli, and four others rested

Harpal  Singh Bedi

New  Delhi:  As expected opener Rohit Sharma was on Tuesday named captain of the 16-member  squad for the three T20I series against New Zealand, starting from November 17.

 KL Rahul is the vice-captain of the team for the series which will be without  Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah  Mohammed Shami, and Ravindra Jadeja. These five have been given a rest.

 Ruturaj Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshal Patel, and Avesh Khan are the new faces in the squad.

The Chetan Sharma-led selection committee also selected the India ‘A’ squad for the South Africa tour scheduled to start from November 23 in Bloemfontein. The team will play three four-day matches during the tour.

T20I squad: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj

India ‘A’ squad for South Africa tour: 

Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.