Pole position for Chennai’s Alwin Sundar, Deepak Ravikumar, Rajiv Sethu top Free Practice sessions

Newsroom24x7 Network

Alwin Sundar took pole position in the Novice (Stock 165cc) category (Oct 8)

Chennai: 19-year old  Alwin Sundar (AS Motorsports), claimed the pole position in the Novice (Stock 165cc) category in the third round of the  Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT, here on Friday.

 Local collegian, Alwin,  head of the championship in the Novice category following a double in the first round in August, overcame a shaky start in the qualifying session when he went off the track on the out-lap, but gathered himself to post the fastest lap of two minutes, 08.098secs after deftly negotiating traffic.

Mumbai’s Kayan Zubin Patel (Sparks Racing) posted the second-best lap of 02:08.545 while team-mate Allwin Xavier (Thrissur) completed the front row clocking 02:08.772. In all, 38 riders out of 43 qualified to start tomorrow’s race.

Meanwhile, TVS Racing’s Deepak Ravikumar (01:52.567) and Jagan Kumar (01:52.627) were among the quickest riders in the Free Practice session in the premier Prostock 301-400cc category with championship leader Rajini Krishnan (RACR Castrol Power Racing) just behind the lead pair, clocking 01:52.647.

Later, Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing’s Rajiv Sethu set the pace in the Prostock 165cc category during the free practice session by topping the timesheets with a hot lap of 01:56.344, ahead of TVS Racing pair of defending champion Jagan Kumar (01:56.405) and KY Ahamed (01:57.070). The close competition between Honda and TVS riders has produced several nail-biting finishes and this weekend’s double-header promises more of the same.

In the Girls (Novice, Stock 165cc) category, championship leader Ryhana Bee (RACR) from Chennai was the quickest in Free Practice followed by defending champion Ann Jennifer (Sparks Racing) who is still to score a point this season.

In the qualifying sessions for the One-Make Championship organised by the MMSC, Puducherry’s Navaneeth Kumar (TVS RR 310 Open), Rakshita Dave from Chennai (TVS Girls, RTR 200), and Prakash Kamat from Bokaro Steel City (Idemitsu Honda Talent Cup, Novice, CBR 150), qualified for pole positions in their respective categories.

The results (Qualifying – best laps):

National Championship – Novice (Stock 165cc): 1. Alwin Sundar (AS Motorsports, Chennai) (02mins, 08.098secs); 2. Kayan Zubin Patel (Sparks Racing, Mumbai) (02:08.545); 3. Allwin Xavier (Sparks Racing, Thrissur) (02:08.772).

One-Make Championship organised by MMSC: TVS Open (RR 310): 1. Navaneeth Kumar (Puducherry) (01:56.178); 2. Aditya Rao (Bengaluru) (01:56.461); 3. Amarnath Menon (Calicut) (01:56.526). Girls (Apache RTR 200): 1. Rakshita Dave (Chennai) (02:14.505); 2.Adlin Seles (Chennai) (02:14.561); 3. Renuka Gajendran (Bengaluru) (02:15.094).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup – Novice (CBR 150): 1. Prakash Kamat (Bokaro Steel City) (02:09.673); 2. Ikshan Shanbhag (Satara) (02:09.920); 3. Vivek Gaurav (Patna) (02:11.478).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.