Assembly Polls: Victory for Mamata in West Bengal, BJP in Assam and Puducherry, LDF in Kerala and DMK-Congress alliance in Tamil Nadu

Newsroom24x7 Network

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party, the ruling party at the Centre, has been beaten squarely by the All India Trinamool Congress led by Mamata Banerjee in the general election to the West Bengal Assembly.

This is AITC’s third consecutive victory in Bengal Assembly election.

Till 7 pm on Sunday 2 May 2021, AITC was leading in 192 and had 21 of the 292 seats when the counting of votes was still in progress

The Bharatiya Janata Party was way begind, leading in 75 seats and winning three seats (73).
The Left parties and Indian National Congress failed to open their account.

In Tamil Nadu, Stalin-led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), in alliance with Congress, will replace the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) ruling the State for 10 years. DMK alliance was ahead in 112 constituencies while ally Congress was leading in 16 seats.

The AIADMK was leading in 75 seats and had won two seats while the BJP was leading in three of the total 234 seats.

The Left Democratic Front in Kerala created history by retaining power in the state where goverments change every five years. The LDF won 44 seats and was ahead in 49 while the opposition Congress-led United Democratic Front bagged 17 seats and was leading in 25 seats of 140 seats. The BJP failed to open its account.

In Assam BJP was on its way to form the Government. The ruling BJP alliance with AGP and UPPL has given a drubbing to the Congress party’s grand alliance in Assam.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.