Padma Vibhushan for Shinzo Abe; Padma Bhushan for Sumitra Mahajan; No Scientist or Engineer from India figures in the list

Newsroom24x7 Network

New Delhi: Former Prime Minister of Japan Shinzo Abe is being honoured with the Padma Vibhushan – the second highest civilian Award of India and former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan is being conferred the Padma Vibhushan, on Republic Day.

This year the President has approved conferment of 119 Padma Awards including 1 duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one).

No scientist from across India figures in the list of Padma Awardees

Only two persons (both posthumously) are being conferred the Padma Award in Science and Engineering category. Both of them from USA. Dr. NS Kapany is the father of optical fibre and Dr. Rattan Lal a soil scientist.
Government of India has not found a single Indian scientist or engineer from across the vast nation for the coveted Padma Awards this year.

In his address to the nation on Republic Day eve, President Ram Nath Kovind had praised Indian scientists by emphasising how they have strengthened national endeavours and worked day and night for decoding the Coronavirus and succeeded in developing the vaccine in record time.

From space to the farms, from educational institutions to hospitals, the community of scientists has enriched our life and work, the President said adding the Indian scientists have added a glorious chapter of contribution to the well-being of humanity.

 The list of those being honoured with the Padma Awards comprises 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. 29 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI, 16 Posthumous awardees and 1 transgender awardee.

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.