Shooting: Elavenil Valarivan, Hriday Hazarika win 10M Air Rifle T1 trials

Harpal  Singh Bedi

New Delhi:  World number one Elavenil Valarivan and Assam’s  Hriday Hazarika, won the Women and men’s  10M Air Rifle T1 National Selection trials respectively at the Dr. Karni Singh Shooting range on Saturday,

In the 60-shot qualification round Gujarat’s Elavenil  was placed fourth after she shot 628.3  and made the cut, Rajasthan’s Nisha Kanwar top scored with 631.8 as she led a strong eight-woman field into the finals.

The world number one  put up a formidable performance in the final, as she beat  Olympian Ayonika Paul of the Railways without much ado.

Elavenil finished with 251.7, two points ahead of second placed Ayonika. Shriyanka Sadangi of Odhisa finished third.

In the Men’s section Hriday Hazarika  came up with a start to finish performance in the Finals, beating Madhya Pradesh’s Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar, a Tokyo 2020 quota holder, 253.2 to 251.5. 

Punjab’s Arjun Babuta, who had topped qualifying earlier with a score of 629.6, finished third with 230.0. Two-time Olympian Sanjeev Rajput, who had won the T1 50M Rifle 3 Position trials earlier, finished fourth.

In the Women’s  and Men’s  T2 Skeet shooting trials. Zahara Deesawala and Aayush Rudraraju were leading the fields respectively.  

The finals are slated for Sunday.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.