EC announces schedule for bye-elections to fill casual vacancy in the Parliamentary Constituency of Bihar and Legislative Assemblies of various States

Newsroom24x7 Network

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has decided to hold following bye-elections to fill vacancies in one (1) Parliamentary Constituency of Bihar and fifty six Assembly Constituencies in Legislative Assemblies of various States as per details below:

Sl. No.StateNumber & Name of Parliamentary Constituency
1.Bihar1-Valmiki Nagar
Sl. No.StateNumber & Name of Assembly Constituency
 Gujarat106- Gadhada (SC)
 Gujarat173- Dangs (ST)
 Jharkhand10-Dumka (ST)
 Jharkhand35- Bermo
 Madhya Pradesh04-Joura
 Madhya Pradesh5-Sumawali
 Madhya Pradesh6-Morena
 Madhya Pradesh7-Dimani
 Madhya Pradesh8-Ambah (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh12-Mehgaon
 Madhya Pradesh13-Gohad (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh15-Gwalior
 Madhya Pradesh16-Gwalior East
 Madhya Pradesh19-Dabra (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh21-Bhander (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh23-Karera (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh24-Pohari
 Madhya Pradesh28-Bamori
 Madhya Pradesh32-Ashok Nagar (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh34-Mungaoli
 Madhya Pradesh37-Surkhi
 Madhya Pradesh53- Malhara
 Madhya Pradesh87-Anuppur (ST)
 Madhya Pradesh142-Sanchi (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh161-Biaora
 Madhya Pradesh166-Agar (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh172-Hatpipliya
 Madhya Pradesh175-Mandhata
 Madhya Pradesh179-Nepanagar (ST)
 Madhya Pradesh202-Badnawar
 Madhya Pradesh211-Sanwer (SC)
 Madhya Pradesh226-Suwasra
 Manipur34-Wangjing Tentha
 Nagaland14-Southern Angami-I (ST)
 Nagaland60-Pungro-Kiphire (ST)
 Odisha102-Tirtol (SC)
 Uttar Pradesh40- Naugawan Sadat
 Uttar Pradesh65-Bulandshahr
 Uttar Pradesh95-Tundla (SC)
 Uttar Pradesh162- Bangermau
 Uttar Pradesh218-Ghatampur (SC)
 Uttar Pradesh337- Deoria
 Uttar Pradesh367-Malhani

After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, weather conditions, movement of forces, pandemic etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under:

Poll EventsSchedule for bye-elections in 54 ACs of various States (except Manipur)Schedule for bye-elections in one PC of Bihar and two ACs of Manipur
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification09.10.2020(Friday)13.10.2020(Tuesday)
Last Date of Nominations16.10.2020(Friday)20.10.2020(Tuesday)
Date for Scrutiny of Nominations17.10.2020(Saturday)21.10.2020(Wednesday)
Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures19.10.2020(Monday)23.10.2020(Friday)
Date of Poll03.11.2020(Tuesday)07.11.2020(Saturday)
Date of Counting10.11.2020(Tuesday)10.11.2020(Tuesday)
Date before which election shall be completed12.11.2020(Thursday)12.11.2020(Thursday)

The Electoral Rolls for the aforesaid Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies w.r.t 01.01.2020 as the qualifying date has been finally published.   


            Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available for the aforementioned bye-elections.


  In continuance of the existing practice, the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the electoral rolls, following alternate identity documents are also prescribed:

  1. Aadhar Card
  2. MNREGA Job Card
  3. PAN Card
  4. Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office.
  5. Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
  6. Driving License
  7. Passport
  8. Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by
  9. Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
  10. Pension document with photograph
  11. Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs and

            Model code of conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Assembly constituency going for election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission’ s instruction No. 437/6/1NST/2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017 (available on the commission’s website). The Model code of conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the state Government concerned. Model code of conduct shall be applicable to the Union Government also.

All instructions concerning publicity of criminal antecedents by the concerned candidates and the related political parties, who select them, as directed vide letter no. 3/4/2020/SDR/Vol.III dated 6 March 2020 and letter no. 3/4/2019/SDR/Vol.IV dated 16 September 2020 shall be followed in these elections.

Other instructions including postal ballot facilities to senior citizen(above 80 years of age) and PwD electors; election expenditure management etc. shall be applicable to the aforementioned Bye-elections.


In view of spread of COVID-19, the Commission on 21st August, 2020 has issued broad guidelines, which is to be followed strictly during the conduct of election, which is annexed here with as Annexure-1 which is also available on Commission’s website. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.