Table Tennis: Seeds fail to sprout, heavy damage in Youth sections

Newsroom24x7 Network

Jammu: On a day of upsets, the damage was more or less equal in the Youth Boys and Youth Girls categories when as many as 10 seeds failed to sprout and fell by the wayside in the 81st UTT Junior and Youth Nationals at the Indoor Hall of the M.A. Stadium here today.

Considering only four seeds—No. 3 Payas Jain, No. 4 Yashansh Malik, No. 5 Shubham Ambre and No.8 Chinmaya Somaiya—bowed out in Youth Boys, the Youth Girls suffered a bigger dent as Prapti Sen, the No. 1 seed, Moumita Dutta, No. 2 seed, No. 5 Selenadeepthi Selvakumar, No. 6 Shruti Amrute, No. 7 Swastika Ghosh and No. 8 Srushti Haleangadi went out of the title race in shocking manners.

In Junior Boys, third-seed Preyesh Raj Suresh and No. 5 Jayabrata Bhattacharjee suffered setbacks while No. 8 seed Anargaya Manjunath was the lone victim in Junior Girls.

Prapti Sen of PSPB and Moumita Datta of Railways could not even survive the first round as they lost in an identical fashion, going down 2-3 to Mummun Kundu of Bengal A and Aditi Sinha of Maharashtra. The other girls that followed survived an extra round before bowing out in the pre-quarterfinals.

This has left the field wide open for the two seeds that have survived in each half—No. 3 Anusha Kutumbale of PSPB and Kaushani Nath of Railways—to make the most of the situation as they don’t meet each other until the final. But they will have to wary of those that sent prominent seeds packing.

In Youth Boys, Delhi’s Payas Jain  was guilty of being the most error-prone on the day, including several service faults, which cost him the pre-quarters match 3-4 against Haryana’s Wesley Do Rosario, but Yashansh Malik failed to go past the round of 32 as he went down to another Haryana lad, Vansh Singhal 3-2. But top-seed Jeet Chanadra, also from Haryana, kept his chances alive despite being stretched by Rajasthan’s Anukram Jain to enter the quarterfinals. Jeet won the tough pre-quarters 4-2.

In comparison, in Junior Boys Preyesh Raj Suresh belied expectation and lost 2-3 to PSPB Academy’s Khelendrajit while Jayabrata Bhattacharjee from Bengal B lost 1-3 to unseeded Varun Ganesh from Tamil Nadu in the round of 32. Anargaya Manjunath from Karnatka went down fighting against Sneha Bhowmick of Bengal A 2-3 in the round of 32.


Youth Boys SinglesPQF: Jeet Chandra (Har) bt Anukram Jain (Raj) 11-4, 13-15, 11-13, 11-5, 11-9, 11-7; Shreyaans Goel (Del) bt Shakreja Gaurang (Har) 11-8, 11-9, 11-5, 11-7; Raegan Albuquerque (Mah) bt Shubham Ambre (Rlys) 6-11, 11-8, 11-6, 11-9, 11-7; Hrishikesh Malhotra (Mah) bt Vansh Singhal (Har) 11-5, 11-7, 11-9, 11-6; Wesley Do Rosoria (Har) bt Payas Jain (Del) 11-4, 15-17, 11-9, 11-6, 13-15, 6-11, 11-4; SFR Snehit (Telg) bt Ishaan Hingorani (Guj) 10-12, 11-6, 11-4, 11-4, 11-6; Parth Virmani (Del) bt Rahul Malik (Har) 11-9, 11-5, 11-6, 11-5; Deepit R Patil (Mah) bt Tamal Ballav (Ben A) 11-7, 11-5, 11-7, 12-10.

Youth Girls SinglesPQF: V.Kowshika (TN) bt Munmun Kundu (ben A) 11-8, 7-11, 11-8, 11-3, 7-11, 11-5, 11-6; Surbhi Patwari (Ben A) bt Varuni Jaiswal (Telg) 11-2, 11-9, 8-11, 11-8, 11-6; Manushree Patil (Mah) bt S. Selvakumar (TN) 12-10,11-9, 11-4, 6-11, 11-7; Kaushani Nath (Rlys) bt Poymantee Baisya (Ben A) 11-8, 8-11, 3-11, 11-4, 11-7, 11-8; Anusha Kutumbale (PSPB) bt Naina (Telg) 11-7, 11-7, 11-3, 11-6; Diya Chitale (Mah) bt Shruti Amrute (Rlys) 10-12, 11-5, 11-5, 4-11,7-11, 11-5, 11-6; N. Deepika (TN) bt Vanshika Bhargava (Del) 5-11, 11-7, 11-8, 13-11, 10-12, 11-7; Ananya Basak (Mah) bt Aditi Sinha (Mah) 11-9, 6-11, 14-12, 13-11, 11-4.

Junior Boys SinglesPQF: Vishwa Deenadayalan (TN) bt Vibhor Garg (UP) 11-2, 11-6, 11-8; Chinmaya Somaiya (Mah) bt Soumyadeep Sarkar (Ben B) 8-11, 11-13, 11-8, 11-8, 11-9; Varun Ganesh (TN) bt Shounak Shinde (Mah) 11-5, 6-11, 11-8, 11-6; Yashansh Malik (Del) bt Karanpal Singh (Guj) 6-11, 11-8, 11-4, 11-7; Hrishikesh Malhotra (Mah) bt Y. Khelendrajit (PSPBA) 8-11, 13-15, 11-6, 11-9, 11-9; Shreyaans Goel (Del) bt Mainak Das (Ben B) 11-4, 13-11, 11-8; Payas Jain (Del) bt Anigniv Bhaskar (Asm) 11-9, 11-6, 11-9; H. Jeho (Miz) bt Divyansh Srivastava (UP) 12-10, 11-5, 11-8.

Junior Girls SinglesPQF: Anusha Kutumbale (PSPB) bt Sataporni De (Ben B) 11-8, 8-11, 11-6, 11-4; Diya Chitala (Mah) bt Sneha Bhowmik (Ben A) 11-7, 11-6, 11-7; Munmun Kundu (Ben A) bt Aditi Joshi (Kar) 11-4, 9-11, 11-9, 11-7; Vanshika Bhargava (Del) bt Radhyapriya Goel (UP) 12-14, 9-11, 11-9, 12-10, 11-6; Poyamantee Baisya (Ben A) bt Prithoki Chakraborti (Ben A) 11-7, 11-8, 11-6; Swastika Ghosh (Mah) bt Anushka Basak (Ben A) 11-5, 11-1, 11-4; Lakshita Narang (Del) bt Nityashree Mani (TN) 6-11, 11-9, 11-6, 11-7; Yashaswini Ghorpade (Kar) bt Aditi Sinha (Mah) 6-11, 11-6, 8-11, 11-7, 11-9.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.