Football: 13th HERO I-League to commence on 30th November

Harpal Singh Bedi

New Delhi: Former champions Mohun Bagan  will  take on Aizawl FC  in the opening  match of the  13th Hero I-League  at the Rajiv Gandhi stadium in  Aizawl, Mizoram on 30th November 

 Talking to the media persons  after Hero I-League was officially launched at a glittering ceremony in the National Capital today ,the organizers said the league will feature 11 teams this season, with the induction of TRAU FC, winners of the Hero Second division last season.

In a first, fans from across the country this season will witness two local derbies – the legendary Kolkata derby between East Bengal and Mohun Bagan, and the Imphal derby featuring Neroca FC and TRAU FC

This edition of the Hero I-League  will be broadcast live exclusively on DSPORT and the  Winners will be richer by  Rs 1 crore, Runners up will receive  Rs 60 Lakh, Third Place team  to get  Rs 40 Lakh, and Fourth Place – Rs 25 Lakh.

The Hero I–League has witnessed many a fairy-tale in recent years with underdogs such as Aizawl , Minerva Punjab  (now Punjab FC) and Chennai City  winning the previous three editions. The 12th edition debutants Real Kashmir also created a flutter and were the title contenders at one-point.

AIFF president Praful Patel, in his statement said: “We are very happy to welcome the TRAU FC to the 13th edition of the Hero I-League. The pan India presence has been the unique feature of the league in the last few editions, and is a true testimony to the manner it has played a critical role in spreading the game to all corners of the country.”
The 11 teams at the 13th Hero I-League are – Defending Champions Chennai City (Chennai), Punjab, Aizawl (Mizoram), NEROCA  (Manipur), TRAU FC (Manipur), Mohun Bagan, East Bengal (West Bengal), Gokulam Kerala (Kerala), Churchill Brothers.   Indian Arrows (Goa), Chennai City  (Tamil Nadu), and Real Kashmir  (Kashmir). 

AIFF general secretary, Kushal Das said: “Over the years the Hero I-League has been scouting and providing a platform for future stars of Indian Football. In the 13th edition this year we have 11 teams from eight states and one Union Territory fighting for the top honours. I wish luck to all the participating teams.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.