Shooting: Chinki Yadav earns India’s 11 Olympic Quota Place in Shooting

Harpal Singh Bedi

New Delhi: Bhopal girl Chinki Yadav secured India’s 11thTokyo  Olympics quota place in Shooting, after she finished  sixth in  the Women’s 25m Pistol in the 14thAsian Shooting Championship (ASC) at the Lusail Shooting Complex in Doha, Qatar.

Chinki, who has come up the junior ranks to break into the senior team earlier this year, shot a solid 588 to rank second in qualification earlier in the day, following up on her precision round score of 292 on day three with a scintillating 296 in the Rapid Fire round on Friday.

Just weeks short of her 22ndbirthday, she shot a perfect 100 in the third and final series of shots.

 Though she  was eventually placed a sixth in what was her first senior international final, but India’s second and final quota in the event was secure by virtue of what Chinki herself termed as her “best ever performance” of making the eight-woman final. 

Two Korean athletes who also went through to the finals, had already secured their quotas earlier rendering them ineligible and so were the two Chinese, given China had already exhausted the maximum possible two quotas per country per event in earlier competitions.

The four available quota places in the event therefore went to the remaining finalists from Thailand (2) and Mongolia, besides India. 

Thailand’s Naphaswan Yangpaiboon won gold with a score of 35 in the final and also bagging a quota to appear in an unprecedented seventh Olympic games on the trot, was silver winning Mongolian legend and Beijing Olympics silver medalist, Ortryad Gundengma.

Meanwhile  juniors  dominance,continued unabated with India picking up 11 more medals on the day including six golds.

Other medal winners 

50m Rifle Prone Women-Team of Tejaswini Sawant, Anjum Moudgil and Kajal Saini won gold (1864.8)

50m Rifle Prone Men– Team of Sanjeev Rajput, Shubhankar Pramanick and Tarun Yadav won silver (1865.1)

10m Air Rifle Men Youth– Rudrankksh Patil, T.R.Srijay and Paarth Makhija won team gold( 1871.0)

10m Air Rifle Men Youth– Rudrankksh and Srijay won individual gold and silver with  249 and 248.8 respectively in the final

10m Air Pistol Men Youth– Naveen, Monu kumar and Naved Chaudhary won the team gold(1710)

10m Air Pistol Men Youth– Naveen won individual gold ( 241.2)  

25m Standard Pistol Men– Udhayveer Sidhu shot 577 to win the individual silver while Udhayveer, Vijayveer Sidhu and Gurpreet Singh won team gold  (1710)

25m Standard Pistol Men Junior– Harsh Gupta won individual bronze ( 565) and combined with Dilshaan Kelley and Harshwardhan Yadav to win team silver with  1680

India has a total medal count of 35 medals so far in the competition and have also won two Olympic quota places.


Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.