Parliament abrogates special status under Article 370, passes J&K bifurcation Bill

Newsroom24x7 Network

Amit ShahNew Delhi: Lok Sabha on Tuesday, 6 August 2019, approved the resolution abrogating special status to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 of the Constitution and also the Bill to bifurcate the state into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir and Laddakh.

The resolution and the Bill were approved by Rajya Sabha on Monday.

The resolution to abrogate Article 370 was passed by Lok Sabha with 351 members voting in favour and 72 against it. One member abstained.

The Bill to create two UTs – Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh – was passed by 370 votes in favour and 70 against.

After the resolution and the Bill were adopted, Lok Sabha was adjourned sine die.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was greeted with thumping of desks and loud applause when he entered in the House and took his seat before the resolution and Bill were put to vote.

Home Minister Amit Shah, while responding to the debate on the resolution for abrogating provisions of Article 370 and the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill 2019, said that Article 370 was creating doubts over Jammu and Kashmir’s relations with India. He also said that India will continue to claim the territories of Jammu and Kashmir under the occupation of Pakistan. He categorically ruled out any talks with separatist Hurriyat Conference.

Shah said the Modi government will restore statehood to Jammu and Kashmir when normalcy returns.

“This is not a historical blunder but we are setting right the historical blunder,” Shah said and dismissed the opposition charge that the government was committing a mistake. He went on to point out that Article 370 was discriminatory and against development, different minority groups and women.

Shah withdrew the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation (2nd Amendment) Bill, 2019, in Lok Sabha, saying that the clauses incorporated in the legislation will automatically come into effect in
the two new Union Territories. The Bill will also be withdrawn from Rajya Sabha.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.