General Election 2019: Narendra Modi leads BJP, NDA to landslide victory

Newsroom24x7 Network

Jubilant BJP workers greet party president amit Shah at party headquarters

Resounding 2019 Mandate

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has led the Bharatiya Janata Party and the NDA to a landslide victory in the general election to the Lok Sabha with the Bharatiya Janata Party winning 158 seats and leading in another 145 taking BJP’s total to 303 out of 542 seats as per the status declared by the Election Commission till 10.05 pm

NDA is headed to win 351 seats and UPA only 95.

Congress party candidates have been declared elected in 31 constituencies. Congress was leading in 21 and if they are able maintain their lead till the end of counting, their seat tally would go up to 52.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi has been defeated on his home turf – Amethi – by Union Minister and firebrand BJP leader Smriti Irani.

When it was clear this afternoon that the BJP-led NDA has emerged victorious, Modi tweeted:

“Together we grow.

Together we prosper.

Together we will build a strong and inclusive India.

India wins yet again! #VijayiBharat”

Modi further said “The faith placed in our alliance is humbling and gives us strength to work even harder to fulfill people’s aspirations. I salute every BJP Karyakarta for their determination, perseverance & hardwork. They went home to home, elaborating on our development agenda.

Now, the time has come to take the Chowkidar Spirit to the next level.

Keep this spirit alive at every moment and continue working for India’s progress.

The word ‘Chowkidar’ goes from my Twitter name but it remains an integral part of me. Urging you all to do the same too!

The people of India became Chowkidars and rendered great service to the nation. Chowkidar has become a powerful symbol to safeguard India from the evils of casteism, communalism, corruption and cronyism.”

Congratulatory messages are pouring in from world leaders

My friend @narendramodi warm greetings on your impressive election victory! These electoral results again prove your leadership in the world’s largest democracy. Together we will continue to strengthen the close friendship between India and Israel. Excellent, my friend – Benjamin Netanyahu, Prime Minister of Israel.

Congratulations to @narendramodi for winning the legislative elections in #India. The traditional vitality and dynamism of Indian democracy is confirmed. Wishing to the Leader and friend success in his endeavors – Giuseppe Conte, Prime Minister of Italy

Congratulations to @narendramodi on a magnificent victory! We look forward to working closely with you. – Ranil Wickemsinghe, Prime Minister of Sri Lanka

Congratulations on your victory and the peoples re-endorsement of your leadership.
Sri Lanka looks forward to continuing the warm and constructive relationship with India in the future. – Maithripala Sirisena, President of Sri Lanka

My heartfelt congratulations to Prime Minister @narendramodi for his great electoral victory. Together, we will make sure that relations between #Portugal and #India will rise to a new level of friendship and cooperation in the next years. – Antonio Costa, Prime Minister of Portugal

I, on behalf of the people of Bhutan, offer heartiest congratulations to Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi @PMOIndia and his team on the election victory. As we look forward to working closely in years to come, we pray India achieves greater success under your leadership. Lotay Tshering, Prime Minister of Bhutan

Congratulations to PM @narendramodi on his historic victory in the Indian general elections. It is a strong affirmation of the Indian people’s confidence in the BJP/led government. I look forward to closer and enhanced ties of Maldives-India cooperation. – Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, President of Maldives

Congratulations @narendramodi on your historic re-election as Prime Minister of India. Australia and India enjoy a strong, vibrant and strategic partnership, and our India Economic Strategy will take our ties to a new level. I look forward to meeting again soon. – Scott Morrison, Prime Minister of Australia

On his victory from Kashi (Varanasi), the Prime Minister’s first reaction was expressed through a tweet. He said: The People of Kashi are remarkable! When I had gone to Kashi to file my nomination papers, they confidently said that they would manage the entire campaign without me having to come back even once…and manage they did! I bow to the citizens of Kashi. Looking forward to serving them.

On May 21, when Modi met the NDA leasders, he said: “Our alliance represents India’s diversity and our agenda is India’s progress. We are best suited to address regional aspirations and enhance national progress.

Accepting the verdict of the people of India, Congress President Rahul Gandhi Congratulated the winners, Mr Modi & the NDA. he also thanked the people of Wayanad for electing him as their MP. He also conceded defeat in Amethi at the hands of senior BJP leader and Union Minister Smriti Irani and thanked the people of Amethi.

On May 19, obviously sensing defeat, Rahul Gandhi had cast aspersions on the working of the Election Commission and raised the bogey of electronic voting machines (EVMs) by stating: “From Electoral Bonds & EVMs to manipulating the election schedule, NaMo TV, “Modi’s Army” & now the drama in Kedarnath; the Election Commission’s capitulation before Mr Modi & his gang is obvious to all Indians. The EC used to be feared & respected. Not anymore.”

Rahul was also his sarcastic and caustic best on May 17. When PM Modi sat with party president Amit Shah as he addressed the media at the party headquarters in Delhi, Rahul tweeted: Congratulations Modi Ji. Excellent Press Conference! Showing up is half the battle. Next time Mr Shah may even allow you to answer a couple of questions. Well done!


Click links below for
Constituencywise-All Candidates
Constituencywise Trends


Status Known For 542 out of 542 Constituencies
Party Won Leading Total
Aam Aadmi Party 0 1 1
AJSU Party 1 0 1
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 0 1 1
All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen 1 1 2
All India Trinamool Congress 10 12 22
All India United Democratic Front 0 1 1
Bahujan Samaj Party 5 5 10
Bharatiya Janata Party 182 121 303
Biju Janata Dal 0 12 12
Communist Party of India 1 1 2
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 0 3 3
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 9 14 23
Indian National Congress 31 21 52
Indian Union Muslim League 2 1 3
Jammu & Kashmir National Conference 2 1 3
Janata Dal (Secular) 1 0 1
Janata Dal (United) 9 7 16
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1 0 1
Kerala Congress (M) 1 0 1
Lok Jan Shakti Party 6 0 6
Mizo National Front 1 0 1
Naga Peoples Front 0 1 1
National People’s Party 1 0 1
Nationalist Congress Party 4 1 5
Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 0 1 1
Revolutionary Socialist Party 0 1 1
Samajwadi Party 2 3 5
Shiromani Akali Dal 2 0 2
Shivsena 9 9 18
Sikkim Krantikari Morcha 0 1 1
Telangana Rashtra Samithi 7 2 9
Telugu Desam 0 3 3
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party 0 22 22
Other 6 2 8
Total 294 248 542
All Party

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.