Skip to content

Election 2019: Mamata’s TMC comes under attack; Diggy battles to hold ground

Newsroom24x7 network

New Delhi: In the sixth phase of polling, West Bengal, where maximum complaints of poll-related violence, intimidation of voters and attempts of booth rigging were received, registered the maximum 80.35% polling.

Confronted with poll rigging charges against the ruling All India Trinamool Congress (TMC), West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday went on the offensive and accused the Central forces of coercing voters to vote for the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The second highest polling percentage was recorded in Haryana (68.34%) followed by Madhya Pradesh 64.76.

In Madhya Pradesh, the fate of senior Congress leader and former Chief Minister Digvijay Singh, who is contesting against BJP’s saffron clad sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur in Bhopal, was sealed in the Electronic Voting Machines on Sunday.

While Digvijay Singh has promised a vision for Bhopal’s planned development, his main opponent has entered the election fray with the stated goal of vindicating her position. The contention of both the ruling BJP and Pragya Thakur is that she was wrongly made an accused in the Malegaon blast case when the Congress was in power. The BJP claims that the Congress party had hatched a conspiracy and coined the word “Hindu terror” to malign the Hindus.

For Digvijay Singh, the current election is extremely crucial. He found himself against the wall during this campaign with Prime Minister Narendra Modi especially targeting him on the “Hindu terror” issue.

The Bhopal parliamentary constituency has remained a BJP stronghold continuously since 1989-91, when in the general election for the ninth Lok Sabha, former State Chief Secretary Sushil Chandra Verma was elected on a BJP ticket. He won this seat for the fourth time in a row when he was elected to the 12th Lok Sabha (1998-99). Firebrand BJP leader Uma Bharti was elected from Bhopal in 1999. After her, former Chief Minister Kailash Joshi represented Bhopal for two terms between 2004 and 2014. BJP’s Alok Sanjar is the sitting member from Bhopal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: