Juniors Sarabjot, Esha win gold each for India at Asian Airgun Championships

Harpal Singh Bedi

airgun winnersNew Delhi: Promising shooters Sarabjot Singh and Esha Singh showcased their talent by winning a gold each in the 10m Air Pistol junior Men’s and Women’s events respectively, at the end of day four of the 12th Asian Airgun Championships Taoyuan, Taipei.

As per information received here, Sarabjot also partnered Arjun Cheema and Vijayveer Sidhu to win the junior team gold and bolster India’s overall tally to eight gold, four silver and two bronze medals with two days of competition left.

Sarabjot led the qualifier with a score of 579 and then shot 237.8 in the final to pip Korean Kim Woojong who shot 236.6. Vijayveer won bronze with a score of 217.5 while Arjun Cheema, the third Indian in the final ended fourth.

The trio’s combined qualification total of 1718 was way ahead of Taipei’s 1699, to ensure a double gold for them in the event.

airgun winners 2In the junior women section Eisha topped her qualifier with 576 and then shot 240.1 to win with consummate ease and give India her third gold medal of the day. Korea’s Yun Seonjeong won silver with a score of 235, a clear 5.1 behind the leader.

Two other Indian shooters, Harshada Nithave and Devanshi Dhama also made it to the final but finished fifth and eight respectively. The three combined to win the team silver however, behind Korea.

It will be back to the seniors on Sunday as the Rifle exponents in the Men and Women category line-up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.