Election Commission announces Lok Sabha election

Newsroom24x7 Network

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced Lok Sabha election in New Delhi on Sunday, 10 March 2019


New Delhi: Seven phases of polls have been announced for the general election to the 17th Lok Sabha by the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora today.

The first phase of poll will be conducted on 11 April and the last phase on 19 May. Counting of votes and results will be on May 23.

Election Commission has announced elections to Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim simultaneously with Lok Sabha election 2019.

Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir not to be held along with Lok Sabha polls.

With the announcement of the election schedule, the Model Code of Conduct is in place. According to the Chief Election Commissioner. the MCC will be enforced strictly.

In 1st Phase, 91 Parliamentary constituencies in 20 states will go to poll.

The ECI has issued a general advisory to political parties asking them to desist usage of photographs of Defence personnel-General Advisory to Political Parties.

Electors Photo Identity Card or one of the eleven specified photo identity documents, essential for casting vote and the Photo Voter slips not to be valid as stand-alone identification document for voting.

The ECI has warned the citizens of fake news in social media informing that “Those who hold Indian passport, can now vote online for 2019 elections.” There is no online voting facility for any category of voter. Overseas Indians may submit application for enrolment in form 6A online at nvsp.in or by using Voter helpline mobile app. To Cast the vote on the date of poll, an overseas elector may come to his designated Polling station with his Passport as document for identification.
single phase polls for


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.