Tourism Ministry has sanctioned outlay of Rs. 6438 crore for two flagship schemes

Newsroom24x7 Network

KJ Alphons, Minister of State for Tourism (Independent Charge)

New Delhi: The Ministry of Tourism is spearheading two flagship programmes – One is Swadesh Darshan with a sanctioned outlay of Rs. 5,711 crore and the other is Prasad, which has an outlay of Rs, 727 crore.

under the Swadeh Darshan scheme, 69 projects have been sanctioned while 24 schemes have been sanctioned under Prasad.

The total outlay for development works under the Ministry for Tourism in the current financial year is Rs. 1,320 crore.

For North East, eight projects with an outlay of Rs.723 crore have been sanctioned. Under tribal scheme theme, four projects worth of Rs.381 crore, under Buddhist theme, five projects worth of Rs.362 crore and under eco-tourism project,five projects worth of Rs. 461 crore have been sanctioned. Under coastal theme, the Ministry has cleared 11 projects worth of Rs.896 crore.

This information was given by K.J. Alphons, Minister of State for Tourism (Independent Charge) in Parliament (Lok Sabha) on 30 July 2018.

The Minister told the House that cruise tourism is being promoted very strongly. Projects worth Rs. 106 crore have been sanctioned over the last few years and many of them have been completed. These include Cochin, Chennai and Goa ports. In Mumbai port, projects worth Rs. 300 crore have been sanctioned.

Further Alphons told the Lok Sabha that the Ministry of Shipping is putting in Rs. 197 crore and the rest is going to come from the private sector. In Cochin, Rs. 21.43 crore worth of project is for a new cruise terminal which can berth big cruise ships and it is going on.

The Ministry of Tourism runs 42 institutes of hotel management, out of which 21 are under the Central Government and 21 are under the State Governments.

The Tourism Ministry also spends huge funds on publicity. This year, there is a budgetary provision for Rs. 450 crore for overseas publicity and Rs. 135 crore for publicity domestically.

Swadesh Darshan scheme has a vision to develop theme based tourist circuits on the principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner by synergizing efforts to focus on needs and concerns of all stakeholders to enrich tourist experience and enhance employment opportunities.

Under the Swadesh Darshan scheme thematic circuits have been identified for development. These include the North-East India Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit,
Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit, Heritage Circuit, Tirthankar Circuit & Sufi Circuit.

Under PRASHAD scheme, sites of religious significance have been identified for development in India.  These are Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh), Amritsar (Punjab), Ajmer (Rajasthan), Ayodhya (Uttar Pradesh), Badrinath (Uttarakhand), Dwarka (Gujarat), Deoghar (Jharkhand), Belur (West Bengal), Gaya (Bihar), Guruvayoor (Kerala), Hazratbal (Jammu & Kashmir), Kamakhya (Assam), Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu), Katra (Jammu & Kashmir), Kedarnath (Uttarakhand), Mathura (Uttar Pradesh), Patna (Bihar), Puri (Odisha), Srisailam (Andhra Pradesh), Somnath (Gujarat), Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh), Trimbakeshwar (Maharashtra), Ujjain (Madhya Pradesh), Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh) and Vellankani (Tamil Nadu).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.