EC announces schedule for bye-elections to fill vacancies in Madhya Pradesh Assembly

Newsroom24x7 Network

New Delhi: As there are clear vacancies in the State Legislative Assembly of Madhya Pradesh from 27-Kolaras and 34-Mungaoli Assembly Constituencies that need to be filled up, the Election Commission has announced bye-elections to fill these vacancies

After taking into consideration factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, and weather conditions, the Commission also announced the schedule for calling general elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Meghalaya, Nagaland & Tripura on 18 January, 2018.

The Poll is scheduled to be held in single phase on 18 February 2018 in Tripura and on 27 February 2018 in Meghalaya & Nagaland. Section 126 of Representation of the People Act, 1951, prohibits displaying any election matter by means, inter alia, of television or similar apparatus, during the period of 48 hours before the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in a constituency.

Schedule for Madhya Pradesh Assembly bye-elections

Poll Events


Date of Issue of Gazette Notification

30/01/2018 (Tuesday)

Last Date of Nominations

06/02/2018 (Tuesday)

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations

07/02/2018 (Wednesday)

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures

09/02/2018 (Friday)

Date of Poll

24/02/2018 (Saturday)

Date of Counting

28/02/2018 (Tuesday)

Date before which election shall be completed

03/03/2018 (Saturday)




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.