Skip to content

BJP suffers defeat in Chitrakoot Assembly bye-election

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Chitrakoot (Madhya Pradesh): Congress has trounced the ruling BJP in the Chitrakoot Assembly bye-election that was being viewed as a crucial electoral battle before next years general election for the State Assembly.

The BJP candidate, Shankar Dayal Tripathi was trailing behind Congress party’s Neelanshu Chatirvedi by 14133 votes in the last round of counting of votes this afternoon.

BJP’s defeat in Chitrakoot is bound to leave an adverse affect on the image of Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who is projected as invincible and the most towering BJP leader in the State.  He had campaigned vigorously, along with many star BJP campaigners in Chitrakoot.

Significantly, one of the independent candidates Mahendra Mishra was initially supported by SAPAKS Samaj (Samanya Pichda Alpsankhyak Kalyan Samaj Society). This people’s organisation fully supports SAPAKS (a body of MP Government officers and employees belonging to the general, backward and minority communities, who are suffering due to the state government’s highly discriminatory Rule which provides for reservation in promotion for the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes). Midway during the election campaign when Mishra became a turncoat and climbed the BJP bandwagon, SAPAKS withdrew its support and issued an open appeal to voters supporting the SAPAKS movement against reservation in promotion asking them to vote for the Congress candidate to defeat the BJP which is working against the interests of the government officers and employees belonging to the general, backward and minority categories..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: