Skip to content

Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as Chief Justice of India


Newsroom24x7 Staff

New Delhi: Justice Dipak Misra was today sworn in as the 45th Chief Justice of India.

Justice Dipak Misra was part of the bench that confirmed the death sentence of the four convicts in the December 16 gangrape case and passed the order for mandatory singing of the national anthem in cinema halls.

Born on 3 October, 1953, Justice Mishra was enrolled as an Advocate on 14 February, 1977 and practiced in Constitutional, Civil, Criminal, Revenue, Service and Sales Tax matters in the Orissa High Court and the Service Tribunal. He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court on 17 January 1996 and transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court on 3 March, 1997. He became permanent Judge on 19 December, 1997. Justice Misra assumed charge of the office of Chief Justice, Patna High Court on 23 December, 2009 and charge of the office of the Chief Justice of Delhi High Court on 24 May 2010.

Justice Mishra was elevated as a Judge of the Supreme Court of India on 10 October 2011. He will retire from Supreme Court on 2 October 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: