Ater electors give befitting reply to Shivraj Singh Chouhan: Congress wins Ater, BJP retains Bandhavgarh

No comments

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Bhopal: Congress candidate Hemant Katare  has won the Ater seat by 857 votes by defeating his nearest rival Arvind Singh Bhadoria of the BJP.  Madhya Pradesh went for two bypolls – Bandhavgarh and Ater.

For shivraj Singh Chouhan, winning both seats was an acid test. Since the BJP could win only one, it would not be out of place to say that the Chief Minister has secured only 50% marks in this round of crucial election. What led to the Chief Minister’s waterloo in Ater was his reiteration while campaigning in this constituency that reservation for the reserved categories will continue and no one can stop it.  Chouhan had said “koi Mai ka lal reservation khatam nahi kar sakta” (There isn’t a single true son of a mother who can bring an end to reservation). Significantly, the SAPAKS movement of the general category, backward communities and minorities opposing reservation in promotion in government service in the State has gained ground and the SAPAKS leaders addressing rallies in Bhind and other districts in the Gwalior region in recent months were getting huge public support    After the Ater result, a popular figure in the forefront of the SAPAKS movement remarked : “the voters have given a befitting reply to Shivraj Singh Chouhan”.

The prestige of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan also was at stake in Ater where he had taken head-on the scion of the erstwhile ruling family of Gwalior and firebrand Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia, who was campaigning vigorously for the Congress candidate and had taken the challenge of retaining this seat for the Congress party.

In the by-election for the Bandhavgarh seat in Umaria district of Madhya Pradesh, BJP’s Shivnarayan Singh “Lallu Bhaiya”‘ has emerged victorious. He has defeated his nearest rival Savitri Singh of Congress by a huge margin.

While Shivnarayan Singh got 74356 votes (54.5 per cent), Savitri Singh secured 48880 votes 36.13 per cent).

In Delhi:  BJP has won the Rajouri Garden seat. The Aam Aadmi Party, which had won this seat by 10000 votes in the last election has forfeited its deposit in this election. After its humiliating defeat in the Rajouri Garden by-poll, Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi Manish Sisodia said that people were angry as his party legislator had quit the seat to contest from Punjab.

In Kashmir: Only 2 per cent polling was recorded during repolling at 38 polling stations in Central Kashmir district of Budgam for Srinagar Parliamentary constituency.

Results and trends- Constituency-wise

Bhoranj, Himachal Pradesh
Dholpur, Rajasthan
Nanjangud, Karnataka
Gundlupet, Karnataka
Kanthi Dakshin, West Bengal
Littipara, Jharkhand
Dhemji, Assam

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.