Go to ...

RSS Feed

March 24, 2018

Anil Dave, Javed Akbar and Vivek Tankha declared elected to Rajya Sabha from MP

Newsroom24x7 Desk

Vivek Tankha

Vivek Tankha

Bhopal: Two BJP candidates Anil Madhav Dave and Mubbashar Javed Akbar and Vivekkrishna Tankha of the Congress party were today declared elected to the Rajya Sabha (Upper House of Parliament) following the counting of the first preference votes.

The Returning oficcer for the Rajya Sabha biennial elctions and Principal Secretart of Madhya Pradesh AssemblyBhagwandev Israni announced the election result at the end of the counting of votes. The leader of Opposition in the Assembly Satyadev Katare used the postal ballot to cast his vote. In all 227 MLAs used their right to vote today to fill three Rajya Sabha seats from Madhya Pradesh.

While Anil Dave and Javed Akbar secured 58 first preference votes respectively, Vivek Tankha of the Congress got 62 first preference votes.

Vinod Gontia, who was propped up as an independent candidate by the ruling BJP, lost the election by securing . This election became a huge rallying point and a unifying force for the main opposition Congress in Madhya Pradesh which suffered a defeat in the just concluded bye-election to fill the Ghodadongri Assembly seat.

Tags: , , , ,

More Stories From Madhya Pradesh

%d bloggers like this: