Skip to content

BJP registers historic victory in Assam; LDF wins Kerala; Jaya, Mamata return to power

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Assembly electionsNew Delhi: BJP today registered a historic victory in Assam by defeating the ruling Congress which has also been ousted from power in Kerala by the Left Democratic front.  In two other States Tamil Nadu and West Bengal that also went to polls, Jayalalitha and Mamata Banerjee have returned to power with thumping majority.

All that the Congress can write home about today’s Assembly election results is the simple majority it got in Puducherry in alliance with DMK.

Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, who was introduced as BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate by Prime Minister Narendra Modi during electioneering led the campaign from the front and  the BJP and its allies AGP and Bodo People’s Front scored a landslide victory. This victory in Assam is significant for the BJP as it has captured power in a prominent state in the North-East by routing the Congress which had scored a hat-trick of victories in that State under Tarun Gogoi in the last state Assembly election.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: