Nitish Kumar prepares to take oath as Bihar CM today

Newsroom24x7 Desk

nitish kumarPatna : The much-awaited swearing-in ceremony of Bihar legislative assembly is scheduled to take place today post noon, around 2 pm, at Gandhi Maidan in Patna. The swearing in will induct Chief Minister Nitish Kumar to the CM seat once again for the fifth time in his political career. Having made government in Bihar earlier in coalition with BJP, Nitish Kumar would be, this time round, for the first time, making a government out of the Grand Alliance which consists of his erstwhile political competitor, now an ally, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD, who has managed to bite the larger chunk of seats in this coalition victory.

Grand Alliance, comprising of JD(U), RJD and Congress won the assembly elections of Bihar state with a sweeping majority of 178 legislative seats, out of the total 243 on the beginning of this month. The alliance managed to defeat BJP led NDA, which was contained to a mere 53 seat win in this state polls. Chief Minister Nitish Kumar along with his alliance partner Lalu Prasad Yadav shared a major chunk of victory seats, while Congress managed to improve its legislative headcount to a decent number in this assembly election.

Patna’s Gandhi Maidan has geared up for the oath taking ceremony amidst tight security arrangements for which the state police have made elaborate arrangements at the venue. Some of the important guests who have confirmed their presence at the function include former PM H D Deve Gowda, AICC vice-president Rahul Gandhi, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, UP CM Akhilesh Yadav, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury and Punjab deputy CM Sukhbir Badal. Close surveillance will be monitored by forty CCTV cameras which have been positioned at the sprawling venue that would be guarded by about 2,000 policemen including 30 deputy Superintendents of police.

JD(U) CM’s oath ceremony would be graced and watched by a galaxy of national leaders and is expected to draw tens of thousands of Nitish and RJD leader Lalu Prasad supporters besides nine Chief Ministers, namely — Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), Arvind Kejriwal (Delhi), Tarun Gogoi (Assam), P.K. Chamling (Sikkim), O. Ibobi Singh (Manipur), Nabam Tuki (Arunachal Pradesh), Virbhadra Singh (Himachal Pradesh), Akhilesh Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) and S. Siddaramaiah (Karnataka). The VIP list of invitees includes former Chief Ministers Omar Abdullah (Jammu and Kashmir), Sheila Dikshit (Delhi), Bhupinder Hooda (Haryana), Shankarsinh Vaghela (Gujarat), Babulal Marandi and Hemant Soren (Jharkhand) and Ajit Jogi (Chhattisgarh).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.