Congress Chief Ministers boycott the meetings of NITI Ayog and Chief Ministers of North-Eastern States

Newsroom24x7 Staff

Modi-north-east Chief Ministers
Prime Minister Narendra Modi chairing the meeting of the Chief Ministers of the North Eastern states, in New Delhi on July 15, 2015

New Delhi: Two important meetings chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi today – the meeting of chief Ministers from the North-East and the governing body of Niti Ayog – were boycotted by all Congress chief ministers

Tamil Nadu chief Minister J Jayalalithaa and West Bengal chief Ministe Mamata Banerjee were conspicous by their absence at the Niti Ayog Meeting. Odisha chief minister naveen patnaik and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav had excused themselves citing other engagements.

While Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said “Those who chose to boycott must introspect whether not attending is in consonance with the spirit of cooperative federalism,” Congress Spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala toojk jaitley head on by pointing out that the Prime Minister had undermined the position of the Congress chief ministers from the North east by refusing to give them appointment for almost 6 months.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister wen a step ahead and said that he has already conveyed his views on the Modi-led Government’s stand on the anti-farmer land aquisition Bill and hence there was no reason for him to attend to discuss this matter.

Later, Jaitley gave indication that the Central Gvoernment was likely to give up the idea of moving the controversial Land Acquisition Bill in Parliament.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.