Ruling BJP sweeps civic polls in MP, BJP Mayors in Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur and Chhindwara

Newsroom24x7 Desk

civic pollsBhopal, Feb. 4: BJP’s Alok Sharma was today declared elected as the new Mayor of Bhopal. he defeated his nearest rival Kailash Mishra of Congress by 76332 votes. While Mr. Sharma got 442412 his main rival secured 356080 votes.

In all there were 17 candidates, including one from the Bahujan samaj Party in the fray for Bhopal Mayor’s post.

BJP’s Malini Lakshman Singh Gour has won the mayor’s election in Indore by polling 620083 votes. She defeated her nearest rival Archana Jaiswal of Congress, who got 373487 votes.

The Jabalpur Mayor’s post has gone to BJP candidate Dr. Swati Sadanand Godbole. She got 298433 votes against her main rival Gitasharan Tiwari of Congress who received 212942 votes.

Making it a clean sweep in all the Municipal corporations where mayors’ elections were held, the BJP has also won the Chhindwara Mayor’s post. BJP’s kanta Yogesh Sadarang won this seat by polling 61730 votes against Kalpana Rajendra Suryavanshi of CVongress who got 52151 votes.

In the four municipalities (nagarpalika), where polling was held, the chairpersons post has gone to the BJP in Datia, Badoni; Damoh, Patera; and Rajgarh, Chapiheda. The Congress candidates have won the post of chairman in Hoshangabad, Bankhedi and Vidisha, Shamshabad.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.