Prime Minister to Interact with Economists at NITI Aayog

Newsroom24x7 Desk

Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi

New Delhi, Feb. 3: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who heads as chairman the newly constituted National Institution for Transforming India (NITI Aayog), will be meeting eminent experts and economists here on February 6.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will be conducting this meeting.

Eminent experts and economists invited for the meeting include Ashok Gulati, Bimal Jalan, G. N. Bajpai, Mukesh Butani, Nitin Desai, Parthasarathi Shome, Pulapare Balakrishnan, Rajiv Lall, R. Vaidyanathan, Rajiv Kumar Shankar Acharya, Subir Gokarn, Swaminathan Aiyer, T.N. Ninan, Vijay Kelkar and Dr. Y.V. Reddy. The meeting will also be attended by Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog Dr. Arvind Panagariya and full-time Members of NITI Dr. Bibek Debroy and Dr. V.K. Saraswat.

Minister of State (MoS) for Planning Rao Indrajit Singh and MoS (Finance) Jayant Sinha, Chief Economic Adviser to the Government Dr. Arvind Subramanian and senior officials from PMO, Ministry of Finance and Niti Aayog would also attend the NITI meeting.

First Meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog

Another important meeting called by the Prime Minister on February 8 is the first meeting of the Governing Council of NITI.The Government of India Resolution Dated January 1, 2015 through which NITI has been set up provides for a Governing Council comprising the Chief Ministers of all States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories.

A core objective of NITI is to strengthen cooperative federalism. Hence the consultative meeting with State chief ministers and Lt. Governors that was convened by the Prime Minister on December, 7 last year has played an important role in shaping the objectives, functions and Structure of NITI.

The States have been asked to offer suggestions for the success of focussed initiatives of the Modi Government like the Swachh Bharat Mission, Make in India campaign, Beti Bachao Beti Padhao scheme, Smart Cities, Housing for All by 2022, Digital India, Skill India, and Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.